Skip to content
Students: Prospective • Current • Visiting | Faculty/Staff | Friends
Print this page
E-mail this page

Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell

School of Medicine History Home

About the School of Medicine

Hofstra University and Northwell Health are partners in the establishment and operation of the Hofstra Northwell School of Medicine. The School of Medicine is built upon the strong clinical and graduate medical education programs of Northwell Health and the robust research and academic programs of Hofstra University and the Feinstein Institute for Medical Research at Northwell Health. A brief history of the School's development is included below.

In 2006, the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), citing population increases, a doubling between 2000 and 2030 of the number of citizens over the age of 65, and an aging physician workforce, recommended that medical school enrollment be increased by 30 percent by 2015.

On March 26, 2008, with the approval of their respective boards, Hofstra University and North Shore-LIJ Health System entered into a formal agreement, known as the Joint Academic Agreement that established the School of Medicine, the first allopathic medical school in Nassau County and the first new medical school in the New York metropolitan area in more than 35 years. After a formal search, Dr. Lawrence Smith, nationally recognized for his leadership in medicine and medical education, was appointed as Founding Dean. Dr. Smith had served as the Chief Medical Officer of the Northwell Health System since September 1, 2006, and has continued, as Dean, in the position of Executive Vice President/Physician-in-Chief of the Health System. By holding a leadership role in both the University and the Health System, Dr. Smith facilitates a unified approach to maintaining a successful partnership, providing innovative leadership, and ensuring the seamless integration of classroom and clinical experiences.

In June 2010, the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) granted Preliminary Accreditation to the School of Medicine. Also, in June 2010, the School of Medicine officially opened its initial building and on August 1, 2011, the School welcomed its inaugural class. In June 2013, the School of Medicine received Provisional Accreditation from the LCME and attained Full Accreditation in 2015. The School also opened the doors to its expansion building in 2015 which increased the size of the main education site to over 60,000 gross square feet, bringing the total physical structure to 113,000 square feet.